Red alert for 19 districts


A Red alert on thundershowers accompanied by severe lightning has been issued for 19 districts, the Department of Meteorology said today.

Accordingly, thundershowers accompanied by lightning are likely to occur at several places in in Western, Central, Sabaragamuwa, Southern, Uva, Eastern and North-Central provinces and in Kurunegala district.

Heavy showers above 100 mm can be expected at some places in these areas.

Therefore, the general public are cautioned to take necessary precautions to safeguard themselves against the squall and lightning, the Department said.

Accordingly, the 19 districts which are are named as follows: Anuradhapura, Trincomalee, Polonnaruwa, Kurunegala, Matale, Batticaloa, Kegalle, Kandy, Gampaha, Nuwara Eliya, Colombo, Badulla, Ampara, Kalutara, Ratnapura, Moneragala, Hambantota Galle and Matara, they said.

Read more

Local News