Two ministries come under purview of President


Two ministries have come under the purview of President Gotabaya Rajapaksa, says President’s Media Division.

This has been decided during the ministry portfolio revision carried out today (26).

Accordingly, the Ministry of Defense and the Ministry of Technology have been assigned under the President.

A new Cabinet Minister and a State Minister were sworn in before President Rajapaksa this morning.

State Minister Rear Admiral Sarath Weerasekara was sworn in as the Minister of Public Security while Minister Chamal Rajapaksa took oath as the State Minister of Defence, Home Affairs and Disaster Management.

On Monday (23), President Gotabaya Rajapaksa issued an Extraordinary Gazette, establishing two new ministries – Ministry of Public Security and Ministry of Technology.