Six political parties recognized by Election Commission


The Election Commission of Sri Lanka has recognized 06 more political parties for the year of 2020.

A total of 154 application had been received by the election body after applications were called in January this year for the registration of political parties.

Following the interviews conducted for 121 applications, the Election Commission decided to register 06 political parties.

Newly recognized political parties include Arunalu Janatha Peramuna, People’s Servant Party, New Democratic Marxist Leninist Party, Samanthuva Kachchi.

Further Pivithuru Hela Urumaya and Sinhala Ravaya have also been recognized as political parties.

However, the named of Sinhala Ravaya is slated to be altered as ‘Ape Janatha Ravaya’, according to the Election Commission.

The Political parties were registered by the Election in terms of powers vested by Section 7(4) and (5) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 01 of 1981.

Seventy political parties have already been recognized by the election body.