Curfew in all districts except 8 to be temporarily lifted tomorrow


The currently ongoing curfew in all districts except Colombo, Gampaha and Kalutara and the Northern Province will be temporarily lifted at 6 am tomorrow (March 26), stated President’s Media Division.

Issuing a report of the curfew imposed across the country, The President Media Division notes the following revisions to the curfew imposed across the country.

  1. Curfew imposed in Colombo, Gampaha, and Kalutara districts will remain in effect until further notice.
  2. Curfew in Northern Province –Puttalam, Vavuniya, Mannar, Kilinochchi, Mullaitivu, and Jaffna districts –will be lifted at 6 am on Friday (March 27). It will be re-imposed at 12 noon on the same day.
  3. Curfew in other districts will be lifted at 6 am on tomorrow (March 26) and will be reinstated at 12 noon on the same day.

Transportation will be completely suspended across all districts of the Island. Moreover, transporting foreign tourists to different locations is also prohibited.

However, farmers, those who are engaged in tea smallholdings and export crop production processes in any district are granted permission to engage in their work during the curfew period.

Media, as well as transportation of food and essential goods, will be allowed.

Meanwhile, airport services to facilitate outgoing passengers and port services are to remain operating despite the curfew.

The Minister in charge of agriculture and trade should overlook these functions, the government directed.