Supreme Court rejects Gotabaya’s petition


The Supreme Court today by majority decision rejected the petition filed by former Defence Secretary Gotabaya Rajapaksa claiming that the charges filed against him over the D.A. Rajapaksa museum case are incorrect.

The petition was taken up for consideration before a five-judge bench comprising Supreme Court Justices Sisira de Abrew, Priyantha Jayawardena, Prasanna Jayawardena Wijith Malalgoda and L.T.B. Dehideniya.

Afterwards the verdict was announced by the Chairman of the judge bench Justice Sisira de Abrew, who declared that by majority decision the five-member judge bench has decided to reject the petition without taking it up for hearing.

He further stated that there is no justifiable legal basis to grant permission to take it up for hearing.