Curfew in high-risk zones will be in force until further notice – PMD


The ongoing curfew in the districts of Colombo, Gampaha, Kalutara, Puttalam, Kandy and Jaffna which have been identified as High-Risk Zones will remain in force until further notice, the President’s Media Division (PMD) said today.

In all other districts, curfew will be lifted at 6.00 am tomorrow (April 01), Wednesday and will be re-imposed at 2.00 pm on the same day.

Travelling to and from all districts is completely prohibited except for the purpose of providing essential services.

Those who misuse regulations introduced with the aim of ensuring the smooth functioning of essential services will severely be dealt with according to the law, the PMD noted.

Since the sole purpose of these measures is to ensure the well-being of the people of this country in the wake of COVID-19 outbreak, the Government requests the public to strictly adhere to the guidelines in a responsible manner.

The village Atalugama in the Kalutara district and the village Akurana in the Kandy district have been declared completely isolated areas. No one will be allowed to enter or leave from these two villages until further notice, the release read further.