Curfew in Western Province and several more areas lifted tomorrow


The quarantine curfew currently imposed in the Western Province and other areas will be lifted tomorrow (November 09), Army Commander Lieutenant General Shavendra Silva said.

The decision will be in effect from 5.00 am tomorrow morning.

However, the Army Commander said that it has been decided to isolate several areas further upon identifying them as risk areas.

Reportedly, 12 police divisions in the Colombo District and several apartment complexes have been identified as risk areas. He pointed out that majority of COVID-19 cases currently found in the Colombo District had been identified through these locations.

Accordingly, the following areas will continue to remain under isolation orders until further notice.

Colombo District: Mattakkuliya, Modara, Bloemendhal, Kotahena, Grandpass, Foreshore, Barber Street, Maligawatte, Dematagoda, Wellampitiya, Keselwatta, and Borella police areas

Gampaha District: Wattala, Peliyagoda, Kadawatha, Ragama, Negombo, Pamunugama, Ja-Ela, and Sapugaskanda police areas

Kalutara District: Horana, Ingiriya, Wekada-West Grama Seva Division

Kurunegala District: Kurunegala Municipal Council area, and Kuliyapitiya

Kegalle District: Mawanella, and Ruwanwella