97 curfew violators arrested since last Sunday: DIG Ajith Rohana


A total of 97 people have been arrested since last Sunday (Oct. 05) for violating the quarantine curfew, Deputy Inspector General of Police – Ajith Rohana, said on Saturday (Oct. 10).

“Six people were arrested for violating the quarantine curfew in the past 24-hours,” DIG Ajith Rohana said on Saturday morning (Oct. 10).

According to the Deputy Police Chief, 27 vehicles including 23 motorcycles were also seized for curfew violations.

The Police Quarantine curfew continues to remain in effect for 18 police jurisdictions of the Gampaha district, until further notice.

In the Gampaha division, curfew is in effect in the police jurisdictions of Gampaha, Ganemulla, Kirindiwela, Dompe, Malwathu-hiripitiya, Meerigama, Nittambuwa, Pugoda, Veyangoda, Minuwangoda, Weeragula, Weliweriya, Pellewela and Yakkala.

In the Kelaniya division, the curfew is in effect in the police jurisdictions of Ja-Ela and Kandana, while in the Negombo division, the curfew is imposed for the Divulapitiya and Seeduwa police jurisdictions until further notice.

“Outlets that sell essential goods including food and pharmacies in the areas where the quarantine curfew is in effect, will be opened from 8:00 am to 8:00 pm today (Oct. 10) and residents are only permitted to visit the nearest shop to purchase essential goods,” DIG Ajith Rohana noted.

The Deputy Police Chief reminded the people to be mindful when visiting shops and to follow health guidelines.

“Every citizen across the island must remain vigilant and act in compliance with the quarantine regulations and COVID-19 health guidelines including wearing of face masks, maintaining social distances, and washing hands,” DIG Ajith Rohana emphasized.