Jaffna Stallions emerge champions of LPL 2020


Jaffna Stallions emerged victorious at the final of the inaugural Lanka Premier League 2020, beating the Galle Gladiators in an exciting encounter on Thursday.

After winning the toss and electing to bat first, the Jaffna Stallions openers Avishka Fernando and Johnson Charles created a stable platform for them to build on.

Later, a 69 run partnership between Shoaib Malik and Dhananjaya De Silva coupled with a cameo from skipper Thisara Perera fired the Stallions to a competitive score of 188 runs for the loss of 6 wickets.

Chasing a mammoth target of 189 runs for victory, the Gladiators’ innings got off to a disastrous start when they lost 3 wickets for a mere 7 runs.

A valiant effort by the Gladiators’ skipper Bhanuka Rajapaksa was insufficient to guide his team to LPL glory after he was dismissed for a 17-ball 40.

The Gladiators eventually sunk to a score of 135/9 and the Stallions claimed victory by 53 runs.