Sri Lanka Freedom Party celebrates 69th Anniversary


Sri Lanka Freedom Party celebrates its 69th Anniversary today (Sep 02).

General Secretary of the SLFP – State Minister Dayasiri Jayasekara said the 69th anniversary of the party will be celebrated by giving priority to religious observances.

“The celebrations will be conducted under the patronage of the party leader – Maithripala Sirisena,” State Minister Dayasiri Jayasekara said.

The SLFP was formed in 1951, by S.W.R.D. Bandaranaike who was a Minister of the then government led by the United National Party.

Sri Lanka Freedom Party and its coalition, which contested at the election after 5 years since its formation, secured power in 1956, with S.W.R.D. Bandaranaike being elected as the fourth Prime Minister of Sri Lanka.

Leaders of SLFP that held power on several occasions, made significant contributions to the development process and sovereignty of the country.