First sitting of 9th Parliament begins


The first sitting of the 9th Parliament of Sri Lanka commenced a short while ago in accordance with Standing Order No. 1 of Parliament.

Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) MP Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena has been selected as the new Speaker of Parliament.

He was nominated to the position by Minister Dinesh Gunawardena while MP Ranjith Madduma Bandara seconded the proposal.

Representatives of political parties including PM Mahinda Rajapaksa, Samagi Jaba Balawegaya (SJB) leader Sajith Premadasa, Jathika Jana Balawegaya (JJB) leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake and other Members of Parliament, welcoming the new Speaker, added their wishes to him.

All the new Members of Parliament (MPs) will subsequently take their official oaths or affirmation before the new Speaker. This will be followed by the appointment of a Deputy Speaker and a Deputy Chairperson of Committees.

The official oath or affirmation is expected to be taken either in Sinhala, Tamil or English and the relevant documents prepared in the respective language will be placed on the Chamber table.

Later on, the inaugural session of the 9th Parliament will be ceremonially declared open by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa in the afternoon.