31 Army Colonels promoted to post of Brigadier


31 Army Colonels have been promoted to the rank of Brigadier with effect from today (August 16). The promotions were granted by President Maithripala Sirisena as per the recommendation of the Army Commander.

The promoted set of officers include an officer of the 31st Course of the Indian Military Academy and an officer of the 6th course of the Kotalawela Defence Academy. The officers promoted are as follows:-

  • Colonel C. D. Ranasinghe
  • Colonel K. G. M. S. Fernando
  • Colonel S. P. A. I. M. B. Samarakoon
  • Colonel H. M. H. N. Herath
  • Colonel S. N. A. Dissanayake
  • Colonel W. M. R. W. W. H. J. B Wanigasekara
  • Colonel K. P. S. Silva
  • Colonel W. B. W. M. R. S. P. Aluwihare
  • Colonel E. A. D. P. Edirisingha
  • Colonel U.P. R. Weerakoon
  • Colonel K. A. Samarasiri
  • Colonel N. P. A. Gunawardena
  • Colonel L. C. R. Jayasuriya
  • Colonel K. P. S. A. Fernando
  • Colonel R. B. Benjamin
  • Colonel S. R. B. Aluvihare
  • Colonel W. P. A. D. W. Nanayakkara
  • Colonel B. K. G. M. L. Rodrigo
  • Colonel A. M. Muttalib
  • Colonel M. G. W. W. W. M. C. B. Wickramasinghe
  • Colonel I. H. M. T. H. Senarathne
  • Colonel M. K. U. P. Gunaratne
  • Colonel S. W. M. Fernando
  • Colonel K. A. W. S. Ratnayake
  • Colonel K. A. A. Udayakumara
  • Colonel L. P. K. C. Wijetunge
  • Colonel D. P. Jayasinghe
  • Colonel E. A. P. Ediriweera
  • Colonel R. W. Ponnamperuma
  • Colonel A. S. Wickramasena
  • Colonel D. L. S. U. De Silva