9 DIGs transferred with approval from National Police Commission


Several top brass of the Sri Lanka Police, including 9 Deputy Inspector Generals (DIGs) have been transferred. According to the Police Headquarters, these transfers have been made with the approval of the National Police Commission.

  • DIG Ajith Rohana has been appointed the Director of Disciplinary & Conduct Division.
  • DIG W.M.M. Wickremesinghe has been transferred to the Traffic Administration & Road Safety Division.
  • DIG B.R.S.R. Nagahamulla has been transferred as the head Police Headquarters of Trincomalee.
  • DIG Palihakkara has been appointed as the DIG in charge of Police Headquarters.
  • DIG T.C.A. Danapala who was the former head of the Narcotics division has been appointed the DIG in charge of the Special Branch.
  • DIG Priyantha Jayakody has been appointed Director of the Crimes Division and Organised Crime Division.
  • DIG P.K.D. Priyantha has been appointed as the new DIG in charge of the CID and FCID.

Further, the Police Headquarters confirmed that a Senior Superintendent of Police, 9 Superintendents of Police, 12 Assistant Superintendents of Police and 17 Inspectors of Police have also been transferred.