Parliamentary Select Committee summons former governor Hizbullah and former IGP Illagakoon


The Parliamentary Select Committee appointed to probe the 04/21 terror attacks is due to convene at 2 pm this afternoon.

Former Governor of the Eastern Province MLAM Hizbullah and former IGP NK Illagakoon have been summoned to appear before the committee today(June 13).

The secretaries of the Ministry of Public Administration and the Ministry of Law and Order are also to appear before the committee.

The committee last met on June 11th from 2 pm to 8.30 pm and summoned former Western Province Governor Azath Salley and the Chairman of the All Ceylon Jamiyyathul Ulama I.M Rizvi along with the Chairman of the Kattankudy Mosque Federation, Muhammed Subei.

The Select Committee to probe into the  4/21 attacks is chaired by the deputy speaker Ananda Kumarasiri along with the members MPs Rauf Hakeem, Field Marshal Sarath Fonseka, Ravi Karunanayaka, Dr Rajitha Senaratne, Professor Ashu Marasinghe, M.A Sumanthiran and Dr Nalinda Jayatissa.

The Chief of State Intelligence, Sisira Mendis and Defence Secretary Shantha Kottegoda testified before the committee on June 6th.