Complaints received to committee: 3 against Rishad, 1 against Salley


The complaints received by the three-member committee appointed to investigate complaints against former Western Province Governor Azath Salley, former Eastern Province Governor M. L. A. M. Hizbullah and former Minister Rishad Bathiudeen had risen to four as of yesterday, Police Spokesman SP Ruwan Gunasekera said.

He said three complaints were received against MP Rishad Bathiudeen while one compliant was lodged against former Western Province Governor Azath Salley.

The committee received its first complaint on Wednesday (5) while three more came in yesterday (6), he said.

“The three complaints against MP Rishad Bathiudeen were lodged by an individual named Asela Sampath, Lawyer Indrasiri Senaratne and Ven. Madille Pannaloka Thera. Meanwhile, a person by the name of Ajith Prasanna had lodged a complaint against former governor Azath Salley as well,” the spokesman said.

Police said members of the public have been given the opportunity to lodge complaints to the committee which is located at the Police Headquarters until June 12 between 8.00 am and 4.00 pm