Parliament set to convene; govt. party to boycott session


The Parliament, headed by Speaker Karu Jayasuriya, is scheduled to convene today (05) at 10.30 am.

It was reported that a meeting of the party leaders is set to be held at 9.30 a.m., prior to the parliamentary session.

Deputy Secretary-General of Parliament Neil Iddawela stated that all political parties representing the Parliament have been notified to take part in today’s meeting of party leaders.

Furthermore, the Public Gallery will be remained closed today as well.

Meanwhile, the Chief Organizer of the ruling party MP Dinesh Gunawardena has stated that their party has decided to boycott today’s parliamentary session.

He stated this attending a press conference convened in Colombo yesterday (04).