Dinesh Chandimal returns as SL name squad for New Zealand Tests


Sri Lanka have named a 17 man squad for the upcoming Test series in New Zealand, with Dinesh Chandimal back at the helm after an injury layoff.

Sri Lanka were recently swept 3-0 by England at home, and Chandimal, the regular Test captain, missed the second and third Tests of the series after sustaining a groin injury in the first game.

Dimuth Karunaratne, the opening batsman, will serve as Chandimal’s deputy for the series of two Tests – in Wellington from 15 December and in Christchurch from 26 December – which will be followed by three one-day internationals and one Twenty20 International.

Looking at the pace-friendly conditions likely to be on offer, Sri Lanka have also brought back fast bowlers Nuwan Pradeep and Lahiru Kumara, as well as top-order batsman Kahiru Thirimanne and wicket-keeper batsman Sadeera Samarawickrama.

Squad: Dinesh Chandimal (c), Dimuth Karunaratne (vc), Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya De Silva, Angelo Mathews, Roshen Silva, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Danushka Gunathilaka, Lahiru Thirimanne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dilruwan Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Dushmantha Chameera